El Perseguidor, Club de Jazz en Santiago de Chile

25Apr11

Jazz Santiago, Santiago Club de Jazz, El Perseguidor, Bellavista Jazz

I’ve found what I think may be and remain my favorite little jazz club in Santiago. El Perseguidor is an intimate, softly-lit club in the heart of the Bellavista Barrio in Santiago’s north-central area of Providencia, just a short walk from Pablo Neruda’s famous house in the city called La Chascona. The service at El Perseguidor is kind, quick and professional, the line-up is the best in the city and often features heavy-hitting Chilean and international jazz favorites the likes of Angel Parra Trio, Cristian Cuturrufo and Los Titulare.

I had the pleasure of meeting owner Carolina Fernandez last week. We talked about the Santiago jazz scene a little, about some of the piano players here (I’m looking for one), and a bit about the club of course. I caught a great show by Cuturrufo and band last weekend, too. Meeting Cutu after the show was a lot of fun. He’s a talented man with a lot of heart (apparent very quickly when you hear him play, and again when he hugs you – or me, as the case were – hello), as is his partner in much, the great saxophonist Jimmy Coll, and I’m looking forward to accepting their invitation to sit in with them for a song or two this weekend. Should be a lot of fun! I’m thinking Summertime, Autumn Leaves and My Funny Valentine, though we’ll we what the spirit hits us with…

If you’re in Santiago, I hope you’ll give this great club your support and the stellar musicians who play there your kind appreciation. Heck, maybe I’ll even see you there (if so, please say hello)!

~ Heather

Photo by toniera via Panoramio.



2 Responses to “El Perseguidor, Club de Jazz en Santiago de Chile”

  1. 1 Mossy

    I wish I could visit Santiago again. I certainly would stop by this club and look for you.

  2. 2 Mossy

    Nunca perseguí la gloria


Leave a comment