top 10: high school dance songs

12Aug08

I don’t even know if High Schools have dances after football games anymore. I know that in Nashville, Michigan where I went to Maple Valley High School, we did. Did we ever! It was here that the cheesiest pop tunes made us swoon and where clasping my hands around an upper-classman’s neck felt like all my dreams were coming true. Here are my personal favorites based on memory from my years in high school, mostly the sapping ones but a few fun actually dance ones, too:

1. I Will Always Love You (Whitney Houston’s version)
2. Power of Love (Celine Dion) – random fact: I got 3rd place in a regional karaoke contest singing this song when I was 21. No, I’m not kidding and no, I don’t do karaoke anymore. Never.
3. All For Love (Bryan Adams/Rod Stewart/Sting)
4. The Sign (Ace of Base)
5.
I’m Too Sexy (Right Said Fred)
6. Whoomp! (There It Is) (Tag Team)
7.
I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) (Proclaimers)
8.
I’ll Be There (Mariah Carey)
9. End Of The Road (Boyz II Men)
10.  Save The Best For Last (Vanessa Williams)

I’ll Be There (Mariah Carey)

Power of Love (Celine Dion)

POP QUIZ: Can you guess when I graduated based on these songs? Comment below…



4 Responses to “top 10: high school dance songs”

  1. 1 Pam

    Ha, ha, ha!! Did we ever!! And they were sooooo fun!! You know, End of The Road was our class song. YIKES!! I won’t make the guess on your year, it wouldn’t be fair because I know.

  2. 2 Kelly

    87-91… Man High school music… Well, I’m a guy, so I guess I’d have to list the ones that the girls at my school wouldn’t openly admit to liking… Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax, AC-DC… We had it pretty easy, since they were all local DJs at our dances, we could talk them into playing more or less any tapes we managed to bring with us… until the chaperones made it to the stage that is… One guy almost got dances banned all together by brining in a dubbed copy of 2 live crew with no label on it… I never saw my math teacher all out spring before that! LOL

  3. .`; I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information **:

  4. -‘. that seems to be a great topic, i really love it .;;


Leave a comment